Ask Brian… Tunney

by premierbakedbeanbrand

Brian Tunney has been in the bmx media for as long as I can remember or at least as long as I’ve been paying attention. Recently his work has put him in the media, answering questions about his move from Dig and on the product range that Eclat are now producing, rather than behind it. I’m sure the last thing he needed was more questions appearing in his inbox but as Rob Harrison said he didn’t know what was lined up for Eclat this year, as it was Brian who was running the show, I thought I’d ask some questions anyway. And here’s the thing; He responded faster than it’s taken me to get around to posting them.

I’ve seen the range Eclat are offering, though my bike isn’t in need of anything new, so I shall leave that to other sites to ooh-an-ahh over but as it’s still winter and more often than not evenings are passed by putting videos on, and I’m always looking for something new I think that’s the natural place to start…
The products are now out there and the team is sure to of grabbed the attention of anyone who keeps an eye on the bmx media, however casually, what can we expect to see from Eclat, in terms of media output, this year?
Well, we’re not doing a video just yet. But the parts are available worldwide, they’ve gotten good reception in print and on the Web. There’s magazine ads and the eclat Web site to promote both the products and the team. The team is all over the place in terms of coverage and Russ from the sprfls blog is inadvertently doing an awesome job at getting the name out there and producing a good amount of hits on the site. I mean you won’t see a Complex seat on CNN or Flight of the Conchords, but the brand is out there, people know about it, and judging from the amount of e-mails I get each day, people really like it.
Does having wethepeople as a sister company, who have a well established media presence, the v.i.d.e.o.r.a.m.a edits are always good to watch and they’re under way with the filming for their new video, put pressure on you to produce something innovative? Does the relationship with wtp even come into the decision making process when you’re thinking about where the brand is going?
I guess the short answer is no. But the relationship with WTP facilitates getting everything done by the brand a lot easier.
As well as Eclat you’ve got your media work, Dig, ESPN and Assblasters; how does your involvement with all of this affect the fun aspect of bmx?
I actually left Dig to work full-time at ESPN, but I still do the occasional contribution for the print version of the mag. If any of this wasn’t fun though, I don’t think I’d be doing it. And I think people make my own blog out to be much more than it actually is. It’s not a job, just a distraction.
Are you left with much time to get out and ride either of your bikes? Can we expect a section from you in any video releases?
I try to ride as much as possible. It’s what keeps me sane at the end of the day. Some people turn their brains off by watching TV or reading a book. I seem to unknowingly do that through riding. It gets cut down in the winter due to the cold, but during the warmer months, I try and put in at least 12-15 hours a week riding. It doesn’t sound like much, but trust me, it is. I’m filming a section for Dane Beardsley’s next video, which should be out towards the end of the year, but that’s about it.
What about other riders making appearances for Eclat? I’d expect the team to produce sections for whatever route you take but you’ve been able to name drop some other impressive names, Elf, Bestwick, Kachinsky, who are running parts…
No one at the moment is being added to the official team, but we do flow a lot of people a lot of parts. There’s other riders out there that I know and respect that already ride for component companies, some of which don’t make cranks, hubs and rims. I’m not gonna drop other company’s rider’s names, but if they’re one of my friends and they need some parts that their sponsor doesn’t produce, we’ll help them out. In the end, I think BMX is still to small for a company to say, “Since you ride for so and so, you’re the competition.” I know a lot of people do think that way, but I don’t think it’s helpful.
Were there five sections that you’d pick from 2008?
The produce section, the dried fruit section, the bakery section, the beer section and the wine section.
And finally… How long did it take you to sign 700 autographs?
I didn’t sign them all. I had a little party, invited friends over, gave them Sharpies and free beer and let them go to work. It was fun.

In a somewhat tenuous link there are parties taking place for birthdays all over the place tonight though I’m sure there are birthday parties going off every night when you consider the amount of people alive and the relatively low amount of days in the year on which to be born…

